How I Get My Curls

I haven’t always loved my curls, but as I have gotten older I have learned to love them. Because I liked to straighten my hair when I was younger, I chose not to do certain things for fear that my hair would get ruined. In the summer I wouldn’t go swimming, when it rained I would avoid going outside, and I always had to get up early to straighten my hair. I finally started to accept the fact that I have curly hair and that will never change. So I started to experiment with different products to enhance my curls. Here are some products that I am trying out now:

_DSC0108 copy

_DSC0085 copy

Organix Coconut Curls Shampoo and Conditioner: I normally don’t use shampoo and conditioner specifically for my curls, but when I saw these at Shoppers I wanted to try them. I have used Organix before and I loved it. The quenching coconut curls shampoo and conditioner tames frizz, quenches and nourishes your curls. I do feel that the shampoo and conditioner helps with my curls however, sometimes I had to shampoo twice for it to fully lather. I would definitely use this product again but only when I was leaving my hair curly.

_DSC0096 copy

John Frieda Frizz Ease serum: I love the John Frieda products and wanted to try something to tame my frizz. I wanted something that wouldn’t make my hair greasy but would get rid of the frizz. I don’t think that I will ever get rid of the frizz but this product definitely helped. I just add one pump to the palm of my hand and rub it through my damp roots.

John Frieda Dream Curls:  I have used this product for years now and it helps to enhance my curls. I just spray it all over my damp hair and let it air dry. The only downfall is that you can’t spray it too close to your hair because it can make your hair a little crunchy. If you spray it far enough away from your hair the product works perfectly.

_DSC0090

Drybar Mai Tai Spritzer: Sea salt spray, I find, is the best product for my curls. It gives the most natural waves. Normally the wind is the worst thing for someone with curly hair, however I find when using a salt spray, the wind works with the product. The Mai Tai spritzer works really well and it smells amazing! I would definitely re-purchase it again.

Bumble and Bumble Surf Spray: This is my favourite sea salt spray! Bumble and bumble make the best hair products (I use this brand a lot when straightening my hair). This was the first sea salt spray I tried and it by far works the best. I don’t know why it works better than others but it does! I even uses this product when straightening my hair in my roots to give my hair volume. I suggest if you haven’t tried this product, go try it!

Most of these products I use together but depending on the day I will only use one or two of the sprays. I also always put the product in when my hair is damp. After I have added all the products then I give my head a shake and style how I like it. I always just let my hair air dry!

_DSC0222

_DSC0224

If you hate your curly hair like I use to please learn to love it! I know what it is like working so hard to get rid of your curls and it isn’t worth it! I mean I definitely have bad curly hair days, but I also have bad straight hair days. Everyone will have a bad hair day. Just think you have the option to have straight and curly hair and the people you envy with straight hair will never get curls like yours.

_DSC0216

BABYALEX

coconut-curls-shampoococonut-curls-conditioner     fe-hair-serum-extra-strength-formula

              fe-dream-curls-curl-perfecting-spray         s1602929-main-Lheros1270776-main-Lhero 

xx

Stay Beautiful,

Alex

2 thoughts on “How I Get My Curls

  1. Janis says:

    Thanks, Alex. Great blog! I wish that Shoppers would sell tester bottles so you can try a product out before you buy. Sort of like the mini paint bottles! Where do you buy Bumble and Bumble?

    Do you comb out your hair before or after putting in the product?

    I hope your next blog tells us what to do on Day 2! I usually try a bun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

