4 Ways to Make Running Outside More Enjoyable

Stress is just one of those things I can’t get rid of. Whether it’s work, money, living situations its always there in the back of my mind. However, I am slowly working on dealing with my stress rather than pushing it back down and one of those ways is running.

When someone tells you, “just go for a run it will make you feel so much better,” we laugh and turn that option down because it is too much work. Don’t get me wrong I am definitely one of those people, I make excuses: I’m too tired, I am too busy, I don’t feel good. Then I look back at when I was younger and loved to run. I was on the cross-country team and I ran track and field. I think back to those days and how good I felt after I went for a run. It’s still true now, if I go for a run I feel less stressed, I feel better about myself and my energy is up! So I have come up with 4 ways to help motivate me to enjoy running again:

1. Good Music 

This seems like an obvious thing to have with you when you run, but there are times where I forget to bring my iPod and I have a horrible run. Do you ever listen to a playlist and then all of a sudden that one song comes on and you find yourself running faster and not thinking about how much farther you have to run to finish? It’s all about what kind of music you are listening to. Everyone will differ in this situation, but for the majority of people it will be an upbeat song. I sometimes find myself just motivated to listen to a new album of an artist I like.

My top 6 songs I run too now are:

  1. Take Me Home [feat. Bebe Rexha] by Cash Cash
  2. Go With It by TOKiMONSTA (CRNKN Remix)
  3. Young Blood by The Naked and Famous
  4. Fade by Kanye West
  5. Waves by Kanye West
  6. Runnin’ (Lose It All) [Feat. Beyonce & Arrow Benjamin] by Naughty Boy

_DSC0828

_DSC0819 copy

2. Location

I have a gym membership, but I almost never run on the treadmills. I always find I have a much better run when it’s outside. My favourite place to run is by the beach. The view is beautiful, I find it more relaxing and if I forget my music listening to the waves is all I need. Find a place where you feel the most yourself where you can shut off your mind and just run. I can say with experience it will be a much better run than running on a treadmill watching a TV.

_DSC0756 copy

_DSC0802 copy

_DSC0708 copy

3. My Dog

My boyfriend and I have a husky and he needs a lot of exercise. So I decided to take him for a run, he can let out some energy and I can get a run in. In the beginning it was difficult to find a balance between the two of us, but the more I worked on it with him we found a rhythm that works. He now loves it, I don’t run extremely fast so he just does a fast walk… but he lets out his energy! If you have a dog that needs the exercise, try it! Its not only benefiting your dog, but it helps you out and if your dog has as much energy as mine you will thank yourself for it!

_DSC0736 copy.jpg

_DSC0724 copy.jpg

4. Work Out Clothes 

For me the best time to go for a run is first thing in the morning. If I don’t go right away I have a harder time motivating myself to go, but this means I haven’t showered and feel gross. So my solution was to get workout clothes that I felt good and confident in (and a hat for when I need to cover up my crazy bed head). Whenever I get something new I want to take the tags of and put it on and that can be all the motivation you needed to put on a new pair of shoes or sports bra to get you out on your run.

_DSC0747 copy

hmprod  hmprod (1) LW2AETS_0001_1  hmprod (2)  

_DSC0850 copy.jpg

It’s all about motivation and you have to find that person or thing that pushes your limits and motivates you. For me these are just a couple of the things that gets me out for a run. I am still not running on a regular basis, but its baby steps. At least I am getting my butt off the couch to go for a run! It really has helped my stress levels and I hope that once I am able to stuck with a regular running schedule my stress will stay at a minimum.

Again everyone is different so my 4 tips might not be yours, but hopefully they will inspire you to create ones of your own. I would love to hear what motivates you!

xx

Stay Beautiful,

Alex

 

 

Leave a Reply

